Updated date:

KISS "Music From 'The Elder'" Review

Author:

I've been a KISS fan since '77, seen them live numerous times (in and out of makeup) and I'm a veteran of the KISS Expo/Convention scene.

retro-metal-review-kiss-music-from-the-elder-1981

KISS - Music From "The Elder" (Casablanca, 1981)

KISS was in a weird place as the 1980s dawned. They'd ruled the hard rock scene for the latter half of the 1970s, but their empire was swiftly crumbling in the new decade. 1979's Dynasty provided a platinum hit single via the disco-influenced "I Was Made For Lovin' You," but it resulted in a backlash from diehard fans who missed the band's raunchy hard rock sound. KISS unwisely continued flirting with slick, radio-friendly pop rock on 1980's Unmasked, which is considered to be one of their weakest efforts - except in Australia, where the sappy ballad "Shandi" somehow managed to become a massive hit.

Stung by the mostly-negative reception to Unmasked, the four KISS members - Gene Simmons, Paul Stanley, Ace Frehley, and new drummer Eric Carr - called a meeting with manager Bill Aucoin and together they decided that an even bigger change was in order to revive their fortunes. For reasons that remain unclear to this day, KISS somehow came to the conclusion that the best way to turn their ship around was to record.... a concept album?

What the....?

The origins of The Elder concept differ greatly, depending on who you talk to. Some say that Aucoin was the first to pitch the "concept album" idea. Others claim that Simmons and Stanley came up with it, with the misguided hope that such a project might finally garner them some respect from the mainstream rock critics who had continually belittled the band. Ace Frehley thought Elder was a bad idea and said so, but he was outvoted by Simmons and Stanley and ended up working on the disc under protest. (Eric Carr, being the newest KISS member, didn't have any say in the band's business matters.)

Whatever the inspiration, the album was pretty much doomed from the get-go. Concept albums had been a staple of the progressive rock genre during the 1970s, but they were in a cooling-off period by the time KISS decided to throw their hats into the ring. Besides, the band best known for party-hearty hard rock anthems like "Love Gun" and "Rock and Roll All Nite" were probably not the best candidates to bring the format back to prominence. Nevertheless, Simmons and Stanley threw themselves whole-heartedly into the project.

Inspired by his extensive collection of comic books, Simmons came up with a medieval-themed science fiction/fantasy story about an ancient race of guardian Gods called "The Elder," who keep watch over the world and choose a champion to defend it whenever a great Evil rises. KISS then hired mega-producer Bob Ezrin, who'd previously worked with KISS on 1976's Destroyer and had also recently co-produced Pink Floyd's conceptual epic The Wall. Nobody outside of the four KISS members and Ezrin were allowed to hear the work in progress while it was being recorded.

L-R: "A World WIthout Heroes" single, Japanese "Elder" album cover, "I" single

L-R: "A World WIthout Heroes" single, Japanese "Elder" album cover, "I" single

The Reception...

Keeping The Elder a secret was probably not the best move in retrospect. Legend has it that when KISS finally played the completed album for executives at their record label, their reaction was a collective "What the f**k is this?" The reaction from KISS' fans wasn't much better - they treated The Elder like an explosive device to be avoided entirely.

The rock critics that KISS had been hoping to win over were mostly unimpressed, though a few reviews gave them some grudging respect for being daring enough to take such an unexpected creative leap. On the charts, Music From 'The Elder' performed even worse than Unmasked, notching a lowly position of #75 on Billboard before quickly sliding into oblivion. The album's first single was the cinematic power ballad "A World Without Heroes," and it also fared poorly, reaching #56 on the charts before doing a fast fade. MTV ignored the track's pretentious music video - which ended with a close up shot of a tear running down Gene Simmons' demonic visage.

Due to the toxic reception to the album, KISS never mounted a concert tour for The Elder, and a movie version (which was in the planning stages under the assumption that the album would be a hit) was quickly shelved. KISS' promotional efforts for the album were limited to television appearances on "Fridays" (a late night "SNL" wanna-be on ABC) and "Solid Gold." An additional "live via satellite" performance of "I" from the album was also filmed for broadcast on European TV -- without Ace Frehley, who opted to skip the taping, so the band went on as a trio and lip-synched to the album track. Music from "The Elder" effectively ended Frehley's involvement as an active member of KISS, though the band would not officially announce his departure until the following year.

"The Elder" on ABC-TV's "Fridays"

The Album...

In spite of what 30+ years of fanboy hatred might have you believe, The Elder really isn't that bad of an album - it just doesn't sound much like KISS. It's certainly their most musically adventurous offering, and contains more than a few listenable tracks. If nothing else, you've got to give KISS some props for going so far out of their comfort zone like this, even if the end results are a mixed bag.

The macho chest beating of "The Oath," with its lyrics about swords and steel, and the medieval "Fanfare" quickly let the listener know that we're definitely not in Kansas anymore, Toto. As the album chugs along, Paul Stanley shows off an impressive falsetto (!) in the aforementioned "Oath" and also on "Just A Boy," where he portrays the story's youthful protagonist, a young'in who's not sure if he's worthy of the honor being bestowed upon him by the Elder. (I doubt Paul could hit those notes today!) The gruff-voiced Gene Simmons, naturally, portrays the story's heavies - the members of the Elder, aka The Order of the Rose (the moody "Only You" and epic "Under the Rose") who choose the Boy to be their champion, and also the evil Mr. Blackwell, whose song is a punchy, bass-heavy metal number (and my personal favorite on the record). The estranged Frehley checks in with his lone lead vocal on "Dark Light," which as you might expect contains some sizzling guitar licks and Ace's typical laid-back, spacey vox. It doesn't fit at all with the overall vibe of the record but it's a heckuva cool track and it's the only one on the album that actually sounds like KISS. Back in Storyville, The Boy eventually battles Mr. Blackwell and, I dunno, rescues a princess or something ("Odyssey," "Escape From the Island") before coming to the realization that he is indeed a bad-ass warrior and that he will proudly accept the responsibility given to him by the Elder (the hard-rockin' closer "I")....or something like that. The album closes with a brief spoken-word bit between the members of the Order of the Rose, who proclaim The Boy ready to take on his mission. So in other words, if this album had been a hit, we probably would've had "Elder II" and "III" albums that continued the saga. (We should probably be glad that it wasn't.)

Music from The Elder might have worked -- note I said might -- if KISS had injected the proceedings with some of their trademark high-energy, comic book camp. Unfortunately, the whole album is so morose and stone-faced serious that things eventually lapse into unintentional comedy. I mean, when Stanley is singing lines like "On a mountain high somewhere/where only heroes dare/stand the stallion and the mare" (from the fluffy "Odyssey"), you can't help but laugh. You can practically hear Simmons and Stanley saying, "Please like us, Mr. Rolling Stone Critic, sir! We can be deep 'n' serious 'n' artsy, too! Hell, we even got Lou Reed to help us write "A World Without Heroes" and "Mr. Blackwell!" You guys friggin' LOVE Lou Reed! FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, PLEEEEASE LIKE US!"...

"A World Without Heroes" on MTV Unplugged (1995)

The Legacy of "The Elder"

KISS quickly and wisely distanced themselves from The Elder after it crash-landed on record store racks. The following year they released the back-to-basics Creatures of the Night, which didn't sell particularly well at the time, but it went a long way towards repairing the band's damaged relationship with their fans. Of course, KISS' fortunes turned around later in the decade once they removed their trademark makeup and released a string of hit albums like Lick It Up (1983), Animalize (1984) and Asylum (1985).

However, a funny thing happened in the years since The Elder was first dismissed as a bomb... it began to cultivate a small but dedicated cult following. There are even some fans who consider it KISS' best album. Throughout the '80s and into the '90s the band ignored The Elder in live sets and preferred not to discuss it in interviews (if pressed, they'd say it was "an OK album," but stress that it was "not classic KISS"), but in 1995 they finally threw Elder fans a bone by performing "A World Without Heroes" during their historic MTV Unplugged set - the first time the album had ever been acknowledged in a concert setting.

The album's small but dedicated Star Trek style following has only grown over the years, and their love for The Elder has manifested itself in a 1998 comic book adaptation, in fan fiction, and maybe someday.. on the silver screen. In 2011 a British KISS fan, author and musician named Seb Hunter completed a screenplay based on the album and was soliciting donations in the hopes of producing a film version. As of early 2019, the film's website had not been updated in several years, so we probably shouldn't start camping out in front of our local multiplexes just yet ... but it proves that Music From "The Elder" continues to intrigue, fascinate and divide the loyal members of the KISS Army.

© 2012 Keith Abt

Comments

Vinny Jimenez on October 26, 2016:

I got the remaster version on christmas '95, but somehow it was damaged ( i think my newphew walk over it and never told me) then a girlfriend gave me for birthday present the first cd version, which I still play. I think this is a very good album if you sit and listen to it. Great cuts such dark light, escape from the island and I.

Griffy on June 19, 2016:

I've been referred to as a "metal snob" more than once, so take it with a grain of salt. I hate KISS, actually. But I love "The Elder". Great record. "Creatures" was definitely underrated too. I get why Gene felt he needed to do the Lick/Animalize/Asylum thing - they were about to get dropped by the label; he had to do something... But Elder proved that Gene was a consummate songwriter, perfectly capable of doing legit art rock if he had the inclination. I can't stand the goofy party anthem thing, but he does it because it's what sells. Does that make him a sell-out? Nah, just makes him someone who understands how to capture a core audience and keep their attention.

AridaiAT on June 19, 2016:

@fatfreddyscat Thank you so much for the information!

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on June 18, 2016:

Hi Aridat - there is no "Elder" movie. It was in the planning stages prior to the album release but the film project was canceled when the album bombed.

A fan in England has been trying to raise money for his own independent production of an "Elder" movie for the past several years but last I checked, that had yet to get off the ground.

AridaiAT on June 17, 2016:

Im sorry that I'm late but do you know where I can find the actual movie "The Elder (1981)"? I have been looking everywhere in store's and on the internet but I don't find a thing just reviews. My father is the one that told me that he heard but has never seen "The Elder" (1981) and he really wants to see it. If you could please help me out on the 1981 film. I would appreciate it!

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on November 10, 2015:

Updated in honor of The Elder's anniversary! It was released on this date (November 10th) in 1981!

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on September 16, 2015:

Hi Ric - cool info, I hadn't heard any updates on the film in awhile. Good to know they're still trying to get that movie off the ground.

Ric deckard on September 16, 2015:

I meet the guys trying to make the movie at a London comic con around 18 mths ago, masses of enthusiasm for it real fans. I think there's some kind of promo trailer they put together to give an idea for potential backers. Until that point I didn't think anyone liked the Elder at all, will definitely have to revisit it.

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on May 03, 2015:

Updated

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on September 28, 2014:

Hi Aaron... I like your idea about an "Elder Resurrected," give them time, I'm sure once they've used up everything else in the vaults, they'll get to it!!

Aaron Clow on September 28, 2014:

My younger brother and I bought all the KISS albums as they came out in the '70s, but then fell away from the band after Dynasty. Then we heard (I can't believe I'm going to admit this) they were going to be on Solid Gold playing their new stuff. We didn't have cable at the time, so we were pretty jazzed. KISS p̶l̶a̶y̶e̶d̶ lip-synched "I," and it was about as rockin' and anthemic as anything else the band had done, and my brother and I loved it... And then "A World Without Heroes" came on, and it sealed the deal. We went out and bought the album and played it until it wore out. It was our favorite album for a long time. Still is probably my favorite KISS album. Maybe tied with Destroyer. Nah, probably just a tad higher.

My brother passed on in 1994, and didn't always see eye-to-eye on music, but we did share a real love of "Music From The Elder." Those were special memories. Every few years I spin up this album, lay back with the headphones, and just get lost in the artistry, and yes, the pomp and ridiculousness of it all.

I'm glad Paul and Gene have softened on it bit over time. Really, I think they were hurt that it was so strongly rejected. You don't spend this much time on a project and turn your back on it so viciously unless it really meant something to you.

I also would love to have seen them do an "Elder" DVD concert. Too bad that ship has sailed through the stormy sea (Paul's vocal issues). What I *would* love to see the band do is get Ezrin to do an Elder Resurrected disc with a full surround mix, real backstory and any other trinkets he/they could find.

I bet it would actually sell pretty well. It's probably one of the few remaining untapped Simmons/Stanley mines still in wait for plundering.

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on September 25, 2014:

Updated!

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on January 14, 2014:

Hi El Monga - I mentioned their "Fridays" appearance in the article and even included a clip of the performance from YouTube! Thanks for stopping by!

El Monga on December 31, 2013:

Only you, Ace's solo on Dark Light backed by bongos, Mr. Blackwell, the instrumental Escape From The Island (recorded by Ezrin on bass, Frehley on guitars and Eric Carr on drums) are brilliant!!!

They played a 3 song set live on a TV Show called Fridays back in the day. The Oath, A World Without Heroes and I were performed live back in the day. Ace's solo in the live version of The Oath is the last "Real Kiss" moment in Kisstory.

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on September 09, 2013:

Hi BDC - yeah, I have often thought the same thing about poor Eric Carr. How much must this experience have sucked for him? "Oh boy! I've joined my favorite band! This is a dream come true! I can't wait to start on my first record with them...wait a minute, we're doing WHAT now?" Hahaha

I've always thought that KISS should've thrown the fans of this record a bone by playing the whole thing live, just once. If they'd done it as a one shot deal (probably not enough interest in it to do a full tour) and taped it for a live album and a DVD, it would've made those Elder trekkies very happy and then KISS would never have to go near this album again... hahaha.

BlackDiamondCheesehead on September 09, 2013:

I always laugh when I think of how excited Eric Carr must have been to record his first KISS album, and in walks Bob Ezrin and says "here's what we're doing...". "Oh, and Eric, you're not good enough to play on "I", so we're bringing someone else in...

Poor Fox - he must have thought WTF is going on here?

But, I am in the camp of "love" this album - I probably enjoy listening to it today more than when I first heard it...One thing I still don't get is the decision to change their look with haircuts and goofy accessories - are those small plums or large olives around Paul Stanley's neck?

Still, a great record - anyone else think the song "Only You" is KISS doing their damndest RUSH impression?

KISS may want to sweep this under the rug, but if they ever included "The Oath" or "I" in their setlist on tour, there wouldn't be a dry pair of KISS underwear in the house!

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on September 08, 2013:

I guess at that point they were so confused and lost that they figured they had nothing to lose by doing something completely nuts...

Randy Duckworth on September 07, 2013:

I loved The Elder then and I still do now! True, it is different from any of their other albums, but there is still a lot of musical quality there! I think Ace was right though when he said that they should have gone back to their hard rock roots at the time. Their popularity was waning at the time, and that really is not a good time for a band to experiment with something completely opposite of what they are known for! If they had done a really rocking album or two BEFORE they did The Elder, it would have gotten their fan interest back. If they had done that, fans might have given something different like The Elder a better reception! It wasn't a bad album, but they just did it at the wrong time!

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on November 13, 2012:

I agree TCaro - it's not a bad listen at all, but when you consider that they really expected to have a hit with it, you have to wonder where their heads were at the time.

Tony Caro on November 13, 2012:

I remember the television commercials for UNMASKED with the reporter chasing KISS. Has it really been 32 years? As for The Elder, it is not a bad album at all but it was the wrong album at the wrong time. As a novelty concept album to be released without as an album for die hard fans ala Carnival of Souls, it would have been fine. As the album that was to propel KISS back to the top of the charts....what were they thinking? Anyway, if they release another ALIVE album/CD, it would be cool to see songs from The Elder on it.

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on October 22, 2012:

Thanx Manny -- if "Elder" had been a hit, we probably would've had a "part 2" and perhaps "3" on future albums, so it's probably a good thing it wasn't...haha.

mannyalice on October 22, 2012:

I actually like the Elder, I once gave a copy to a friend of mine who hates KISS but he loved this album, and wish KISS would do more albums like this, personally I am glad they did not.

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on October 18, 2012:

Cool, man. You should dig it out and give it a spin!!

Joseph Mitchell from Nashville TN 37206. on October 17, 2012:

I remember that album. I enjoyed it. I think I have it in my storage unit in Antioch.

FreedomMetal from Somewhere In Time on October 17, 2012:

LOL!!! It's worth picking up the remaster if you find it cheap, you may like the way it plays too! And you can't just re-order the songs as there is an extra minute or so through the interludes across the CD

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on October 17, 2012:

Thanks for the comment, Freedom -- my CD of "Elder" is from the early 90s so the songs are in the "wrong" order (maybe that's why the story never seemed to make any sense! Haha)... the thing is, I'm so used to hearing the album in that sequence that if I bought the remastered "corrected" version, that would probably sound "wrong" to me!

FreedomMetal from Somewhere In Time on October 17, 2012:

Another great hub!!!! I remember the Solid Gold "performance" (AKA Lyp Sync) when it originally aired. I had this on cassette back in the day and thought it was cool. I was 11 at the time...... I do like the album and it is better than Hot In The Shade and Crazy Nights. These days when it comes up Paul loves to say that it's a great album, just not a great KISS album. Bob Ezrin has even gone on record to say that Ace was right they should have put out a hard rock record at the time. Ezrin seemed to think that he has another "The Wall" on his hands. Now he blames it on the coke, we he supposed used in even greater quantities than during the recording of "Destroyer"

To add on to the collective record exec reaction of "Oh Sh!t, there goes our bonuses for the year!", they did force KISS to change the track order of the album to try to minimize the damage of the album by having The Oath as a lead off rocker. To Gene and Paul's credit, when the remastered CD of "Elder" did return the album to the intended track order and the story seems to work and is not as confusing.

I may have to play this one today!

Keith Abt (author) from The Garden State on October 17, 2012:

Thanks for the comments, all.

Chewie, there's nothin' wrong with this being your favorite KISS album. It just means you're part of that small but devoted "Star Trek cult following" that I mentioned in the article... and I'm a member of that club too! :)

Chewie on October 16, 2012:

Is it wrong that this is my favorite Kiss album. It's also the second one album I bought after Alive 2

Death Cult on October 16, 2012:

Not my favorite Kiss album, but one I always dug. It can be pretentious at points, and some of it's a little laughable, but overall a solid record with some classic tracks. Great hub as well, very informative and well written.

Phoebe Pike on October 16, 2012:

A very interesting and well-written hub.