Skip to main content

Coldplay: Lights Will Guide You Home

Coldplay is not just a band. For me, it's a feeling. It's like the warm sunlight after a dark cold night, like the friend who holds your hand when you need it. Coldplay is way more than just a band and the songs have given me hope, more than once.

Why I Love Coldplay

Why I Love Coldplay

Coldplay: The Origins

  • Coldplay is a British rock band formed in 1996 by lead vocalist and keyboardist Chris Martin and lead guitarist Jonny Buckland at University College London (UCL).
  • After they formed under the name Pectoralz, Guy Berryman joined the group as bassist and they changed their name to Starfish.
  • Will Champion joined as drummer and backing vocalist, completing the lineup.
  • Creative director Phil Harvey is often referred to as the fifth member of the band.
  • The band renamed themselves "Coldplay" in 1998.

Look at the stars, look how they shine for you

— Yellow, by Coldplay

A List of Coldplay's Albums: From Parachutes to A Head Full of Dreams

  1. Parachutes. Coldplay has created sensational music since their very first album Parachutes. They gained worldwide success after the release of the single Yellow in 2000, prior to the release of Parachutes.
  2. A Rush of Blood to the Head. The band's second album, A Rush of Blood to the Head (2002), was released to critical acclaim and won awards including Album of the Year.
  3. X&Y. Their next release, X&Y, the bestselling album worldwide in 2005, received mostly positive reviews, though some critics felt it was inferior to its predecessor.
  4. Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends. Their fourth studio album, Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends (2008), was produced by Brian Eno and released to largely positive reviews, earning several Grammy Awards nominations and wins at the 51st Grammy Awards.
  5. Mylo Xyloto. In October 2011, Coldplay released their fifth studio album, Mylo Xyloto, which topped the charts in over 34 countries and was the UK's best-selling rock album of 2011, but received mixed reviews.
  6. Ghost Stories. In May 2014, they released their sixth album, Ghost Stories, which also received mixed reviews and topped several national album charts.
  7. A Head Full of Dreams. In December 2015, the band released their seventh album, A Head Full of Dreams, which reached the top two in major markets but received generally mixed reviews.

A Song for Every Mood

There are artists you listen to when you feel low, there are artists you listen to when you feel ecstatic, and then there is Coldplay. They have a song for every mood.

Over their career, Coldplay has released slow, songs such as The Scientist and Fix You, as well as fast-paced songs such as Viva la Vida, Princess of China, and many more. Each song has a very beautiful meaning to it and is enhanced by marvellous music videos.

The Scientist is my personal favourite. When you listen to the song, you understand it to be about a person facing difficulty in his relationship " Nobody said it was easy, no one ever said it would be this hard. " but the music video changes it. It's a stunning video shot in reverse following a car accident.

Coldplay has always gone the extra mile to not only produce good music, but also a visually impactful video. Such as their recent release Up & Up's video might just seem aesthetic to the viewers but the director has actually included various scenarios showing events that took place in the past, such as the Apollo 11 moon landing, wars, and various environmental issues.


Just like every other artist, Coldplay has songs that are often played and appreciated and songs which do not get enough appreciation.

"Fix You" and "Paradise" are the most commonly heard songs sung by the band but songs such as "42" or "Swallowed In the Sea" haven't got enough recognition.

"You cut me down a tree
And brought it back to me
And that's what made me see
Where I was going wrong.

—Swallowed In the Sea by Coldplay

The recent releases by the band have been quite different from their original style of music and I do believe that these songs haven't been as good as their earlier releases. Hymn for the Weekend was a different composition by Coldplay but for some reason I felt that it lacked the soul which Coldplay songs generally have.

I'm absolutely looking forward to their upcoming releases. Until then I'll just listen to rest of their songs on repeat.

© 2017 Sakshee Kale